ZBCtv to broadcast Zim, Afghanistan cricket series

LOCAL cricket fans will have an opportunity to watch the Zimbabwe national team in the series against Afghanistan on ZBC Television.

Darlington Majonga, the Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) media and communications officer said they had made arrangements for the five matches to be broadcast in Zimbabwe for the benefit of locals.

“We can confirm ZC has made arrangements to have the series broadcast live on ZBCtv for the benefit of the millions of Zimbabweans who support and love cricket.

We are grateful to Total Sports Marketing, the rights holder for the series, for agreeing to make this a reality by supplying ZBCtv with a complimentary clean feed of the series,’’ said Majonga.

It is understood that with SuperSport not showing the matches, ZC chairman Tavengwa Mukuhlani appealed to the rights holders to make available the feed to ZBCtv free of charge, a request which received a positive response.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe and Afghanistan drew their three-day warm up match which ended yesterday At Zayed Cricket Stadium Practice Ground.

Zimbabwe declared their first innings on 505-6 after 135 overs. Kevin Kasuza top scored with 129, Test skipper Sean Williams was second best with 86, Sikandar Raza compiled 74, Ryan Burl 65, while Wesley Madhevere contributed 56.

Afghanistan were on 271 for the loss of eight wickets in 113.2 overs at the end of the third and final day’s play. Pace bowler, Donald Tiripano picked up two wickets for 18 runs, left arm spinner Wellington Masakadza also had two wickets at the expence of 47 runs while Williams and Richard Ngarava picked up one wicket apiece.

Zimbabwe and Afghanistan clash in two Tests and three Twenty20 Internationals at the Zayed Cricket Stadium Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

The matches will also be broadcast on RTA (Afghanistan), Fancode (India), Fancode, eCriclife (UAE), Geo Super/PTV (Pakistan), Freesports (UK-Europe), Rabbithole YouTube Channel (Rest of the World).

The first Test starts on Tuesday while the second five-day contest is scheduled for 10 to 14 March before the two teams clash in three T20Is on 17, 19 and 20 March.

The Sunday News

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: